Carbolicious!

img_6629

It’s week 4 and this week I get to reintroduce carbs.

The last three weeks have gone really quickly and once I got used to the diet, I felt great. I tried not to think about what I was giving up (bread, rice, pasta, coffee, alcohol etc. – not that I’m counting!) but about what I was introducing – more veggies and nutrient dense foods. It has made such a difference to how I feel on a day-to-day basis. Little health ailments have cleared up and I have loads more energy. And it’s so nice waking up without a hangover in the mornings! I can’t believe how much better I feel in such a short amount of time.

So this week the carbs are back and I’m feeling a bit nervous about the effect they’re going to have on me. The aim is to first start having them post-workout and seeing how my body responds. If I find I have more energy when I eat them, I might start to introduce them at breakfast as well. Can’t wait to have oatmeal again! One of my fellow challengees posted a recipe for cauliflower rice oatmeal (without the oats) and it was surprisingly tasty and comforting. If I don’t feel I want carbs at breakfast, I might be making that more often.

To mark the end of the three week low carb period, we were allowed a cheat meal on Sunday. I’ve not really been craving anything specific, so it was an agonizing choice. In the end, I decided on a nice three course meal at a restaurant with a few glasses of wine. I have missed the fun nights out with my friends or my fiancé, so this was perfect. We have been out for dinner while I’ve been on the challenge, but somehow, sipping water isn’t the same. It’s also incredibly difficult to find a suitable low carb meal in most restaurants, so I’m glad I don’t have to worry about that anymore.

The little sacrifices have been worth it though. I’m definitely feeling like I’m leaning out. Above is a picture from last year’s Halloween on the left and this year on the right. I wore practically the same outfit (it was expensive so I wanted to get my wear out of it) and you can really see the definition in my arms coming out. I’m really happy with the results so far. The only thing I would like to see is my stomach get a bit flatter. At the moment, I feel bloated a lot of the time, which is annoying. It’s probably my body getting used to the extra veg intake and will get better over time. I also need to make sure I drink more water as I’m sure that will have an effect.

On Wednesday I’m getting my next body fat measurement. It’ll be interesting to see what I have achieved in just three weeks. I’ll keep you posted.

 

img_6629

Leave a Reply

