Discovering a new way of eating

img_6523-1

So, I’m now three days into my 8-week challenge to kickstart my shredding for the wedding.

Day 1 was fine as it was a Monday, and we all know the best time to start a diet is on a Monday! I was super motivated after a heavy weekend of drinking (four bottles of prosecco – ouch!) I enjoyed a fun workout at the gym and then headed to Tossed for a healthy salad (spinach, broccoli, cashews, roasted peppers and lots of chicken). The food was pretty tasty, if a little on the expensive side, but it filled me up. I went to the supermarket and stocked up on steak, chicken, eggs and tons of veggies. So far, so good.

Day 2 I woke up feeling starving (probably because I only managed to eat 1,100 calories the day before. I really struggled with my gym class – I felt like I was going to throw up and pass out at the same time. It was tough! Normally, I like to do my workouts on an empty stomach, as I don’t do well with eating pre-workout, but I was starving so I had a packet of nuts from Pret. That was definitely a mistake! In future, I’ll try to eat some breakfast at least two hours before my workout.

After the shock at the gym, I decided that I needed to eat more, so I cooked myself a nice big omelette. For dinner I made a nice low carb Thai red curry with cauliflower rice. It was delicious and killed those take away cravings. Maybe this diet lark wasn’t so bad afterall.

But this morning – day 3 – I woke up with a terrible stomach ache. I don’t think my body is used to being this hungry. I don’t usually torture myself that way. In fact, sometimes I eat when I’m not even hungry, which is why I’m now having to shed some fat. Eating helped but I’m definitely noticing the low carbs – I had no energy in my cardio workout today.

The trainers say this is the hardest week, so let’s hope it gets easier from here. I think my body is just adapting to eating healthier foods and it’s a bit of a shock to the system. But having felt a little sluggish and unhealthy lately due to too much alcohol and bad food, I think in the long run, my body will thank me for this.

Tomorrow I’m off to Edinburgh for four days so let’s see how I get on there. It’ll be a challenge to keep this up while I’m away from home, but I’m determined to make it work.

Leave a Reply

